10 05 2008

Disabled iron bar attack victim slams ‘cowardly’ raiders

Rutland & Stamford Mercury

10 May 2008

http://www.stamfordmercury.co.uk/news/Disabled-iron-bar-attack-victim.4067908.jp

A Disabled man smashed over the head with an iron bar during a midnight raid on his home says the thieves responsible are cowards.

At about 12:30am on Thursday last week Leigh Garrod was attacked with a bar after opening the front door of his home, in Little Casterton Road, Stamford, before two men ran off with jewellery and cash.

Leigh, who suffers from post-traumatic dystonia caused by a car crash 14 years ago, was taken to Peterborough District Hospital with head injuries before later being released.

One week later Leigh, whose existing condition causes muscle spasms, says he is still suffering excruciating headaches and dizzy spells.

But the 37-year-old is defiant and says the horrifying incident will not scare him.

He said: “To me the people who did this are nothing but cowards. They aren’t hard men and I’m not frightened of them – they had to pick on a disabled man.”

The incident happened after Leigh was woken up by knocking on his door. Looking through his spyhole he could not see anyone but heard shuffling outside.

He said: “I opened the door and a guy came from the side and whacked me over the head.

“Adrenalin took over and I tried to shut the door on them. But he pushed the door open and hit me over the head again.

“He shouted ‘give me the money!’ I was trying to look for something to fight back with.

“He pushed me on to my bed and tried to whack me again. I blocked my face with my arms.

“That was when I knew I had to give him my money.”

The thieves made off with gold rings and money. Leigh, whose head and elbow were battered in the attack, managed to phone the police before being taken to hospital in an ambulance.

Now he is determined to bring the thieves to justice. He said: “If anyone has information please get in touch with police – you don’t even have to give your name.”

Anyone with information should call police on 01522 532222.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

